Basic Question from a New User

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    Lylio

Hello, I'm a PhD student who shall be using NVivo to organise my research, which basically shall entail interviewing around 15 people. I shall be recording the interviews and then transcribing them verbatim, and importing into NVivo. However, I'm not too sure about 'nodes' and how I organise the data in NVivo. I presume nodes are common themes between different interviews that allow me to search easily between them? Should I import each interview as a different 'case'? Forgive my basic questions, I enjoy learning new software, but I'm a bit lost at what NVivo can help me do after I've imported the transcriptions of the interviews. Any tips would be greatly appreciated, Many thanks for your time, Lylio

Hi Lyilo,

Yes nodes are for storing common thematically coded content which in your case is segments of text or 'units of meaning'. You give each node, or code, a label and a definition (the definition allows you to claim consistency of coding in your methodology chapter) and you code the data to these nodes. You can also organise the nodes like folders in windows which allows you to manage your coding and impose a structure on your data which makes sense to your analytical framework.